It is officially summer, and that means…reading!
While I can obviously read anytime, there is something about starting the summer with a stack of books (literally, the stack is on my night table) and working your way through them over the course of the season.
 
Here is my list–what’s on yours? I can always use another suggestion–especially if its lighthearted and fun…
 
Bossypants, Tina Fey
This was a great way to ease into the list. It is hysterical, yet meaninful at the same time. And I LOVED getting her point of view on the whole SNL/Sarah Palin thing.
 
Area 51, Annie Jacobson
Me and the bf saw the author on The Daily Show, and we were hooked. This history/science book is a great fit for me and Aaron. So, we both bought the book and while he’s in Colorado this summer, we’re both going to read it together. Dorky but cute. This is a long book, but I’m really pumped to read it.
 
 
Enough about Love, Herve Le Tellier
I heard about this book a while ago, and I’ve been dying to read it. So when I saw a used copy at a bookstore, I jumped on it. Its the story of a few different couples living in Paris. Romance and Paris–C’est Parfait!
 
 
Paris Trance, Geoff Dyer
I got this on the recommendation of my book-guru cousin. Here is the Amazon.com review:
 
“Recipe for a millennial novel about twentysomethings living abroad: Take two couples and combine with equal parts desperation and languid slacking. Gently blend with just a pinch of romance. Actually, on second thought, just dump a whole lot of sex into the pot and bring to a boil. Sprinkle with lengthy discussions about the merits of particular movies, directors, etc. Finally, just add drugs. Ready to serve!”
 
Sounds like a perfect summer escape book, huh?
There will also be heavy doses of magazines included as well! I’ll keep you posted with my reviews….
